And then there was light…

The longest darkest tunnels have an exit. There is always an end that heads back out into daylight. Spring WILL follow Winter (unless Global Warming changes all that!) and you WILL smile again.

It’s Burger Time!

More raw food for you. This one is again from Raw: The Uncook Book. Listen, Juliano is a weird guy. The pics in the book are sometimes down right hilarious, and the quantities and serving amounts are almost always frustratingly wrong. (Take the carrot cake. Serves 2? No it MAKES TWO CAKES!) But despite this his recipes really rock. If you know how to cook you will know where the mistakes are and can adjust.

(Cheese) Burger #1

Blend the nuts etc. Yes it looks like ALPO.

Form Patties and put on Dehydrator Sheet

This is my dehydrator. Yes it's Excaliber. You really must be a spend thrift if your eyes go wide. It's only $100! Stay away from the bars for a month and you'll have enough to get one too! Sheesh!

1 cup walnuts, soaked

1 cup almonds, soaked

1 cup portobello mushrooms, chopped

1/2 c grated carrot

1 tb miso

1/4 c minced onion

2 tsp salt

1 tsp corriander, ground

1 tsp chili powder

2/3 c water or veg juice (I used beet)

Form 11 patties and dehydrate for 8 hours at 90 degrees F.

I topped mine with rice cheese and ate on a gluten free bun with tomato and a bit of avocado. I made some kale chips a few days before (the BEST way to eat kale I kid you not!) And some nice soul gave me a butter tart whose buddies were heading towards Sadie’s Diner for tastin’. It was a damn good butter tart I must say!

Broken Heart Vegan Tip #13: One day you will settle down for a good nights rest and it will suddenly occur to you “Oh! I didn’t think of my heart breaker at all today”

Broken Heart Song #13

July 12, 2010. Tags: , , , , , , , , , . entree, raw, Uncategorized.

4 Comments

  1. Angel replied:

    That burger looks really good. Now I’m hungry! 🙂 I’ll keep a look out for a dehydrator like yours. I have been thinking of getting one for a while. The one you have looks nice and it within budget.

    BTW, I friended you on foodie blog roll. God bless! 🙂

  2. angela del buono replied:

    please tell me that 80 hours is actually correct! I’ll do it! Our nuts are soaking now… how long do you recommend?

    • siue replied:

      Oh good gosh! Sorry!!!! 80 hours is freakin outrageous! No it’s suppose to be EIGHT (8!) hours!!!
      Good luck!

    • heartbrokevegan replied:

      Oh and your nuts are better soaked overnight. But you might be able to get away with 2 hours (I’d have to check that recipe again.) I don’t think it’s the end of the world if it’s only 2 hours 🙂

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

