Get the hell away…

I don’t know about you, but when things get really miserable I find the best thing to do is just LEAVE. But that’s me – I’d rather be the person leaving than the person staying. Even when things are good and comfy I always envy the person moving on.

The best thing about traveling or just plain getting out of your bubble is all the great food you can find! I associate some places with specific foods I can’t get at “home” (where ever that happens to be at the moment).

For instance. We here in Canada do not the wonderful pleasure of eating So Delicious’ Coconut Milk Yogurt. Traveling down to the south I was tickled to find it in one single health food store in Daytona Beach. Awesomeness! Both the plain, and especially the vanilla, were beyond tasty. It’s really great to be able to eat yogurt and not have the “soy bloat” that I know more and more of you vegans are getting these days…

I ate the yogurt with muesli (not my fav kind of cereal but it seemed “healthy”), fresh strawberries and a touch of almond milk.

Soy Delicious Coconut Milk Yogurt and "healthy" cereal

To top this was the view I was staring at while I ate:

Coconut Milk Yogurt View

Another great product that I didn’t even know EXISTED, which is also a great purchase for those with “soy bloat”, is 100% gluten free/soy free burgers made with rice and veggies. FINALLY! It was nice with SOL from Quebec made a 100% soy and no gluten. But Bahama Burgers have topped it.

Rice Burger with mashed potatoes and gravy

As you can see, I sort of cheated with the “full of gluten” white bread bun. But the gravy is gluten free because I use Road’s End. (The only gravy I need!)

Now I will admit that burger isn’t that hot. It looks so mouth watering on the package but it’s just too mushy to simulate any of the “just like burger” burgers we are use to nowadays. So, if they were available in Canada, I might just buy them once a blue moon, when I was feeling lazy and in the healthy burger mindset. Iย  actually don’t even eat soy/gluten veggie burgers very much. Call me bourgeois ๐Ÿ˜‰

Broken Heart Vegan Tip #9: Now I don’t recommend simply doing a runner with out plan and leaving everything behind on a whim, or even taking off for a month or year and a half (as I have been known to do)ย  – just going to some other familiar place that makes you feel good is aย  great healer. I guess that’s why all those women go and live with their moms when their marriage breaks up. Or take a short trip to somewhere you’ve never been and always wanted to go. Now there’s time! That person or situation that broke your heart is now in the past. It’s time to look into your glorious future! And perhaps that’s canoeing in Lake Placid or hang gliding in the Rockies (forgive me if it’s impossible to hang glide in the Rockies. What does this city girl know?!)

Broken Heart Song #9

June 5, 2010. Tags: , , , , , , . entree, snax.

4 Comments

  1. veganlisa replied:

    I really needed this post today. Thank you!

  2. heartbrokevegan replied:

    It’s always sad when people can relate to sad postings, but at the same time I guess that’s life! I’m glad it helped you ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. Ivy replied:

    Your “Coconut Milk Yogurt View” is gorgeous! I really hope it’s filling you with peace and contentment. I have never heard of Bahama Burgers, and now I can’t wait to try them!
    I love So Delicious coconut milk yogurt, and their kefir is pretty amazing, too. I heard that you might be getting these up in Canada sometime soon. Wouldn’t that be grand? ๐Ÿ™‚

    • heartbrokevegan replied:

      Gee I really hope we get the coconut milk yogurt up here. I didn’t know they had kefir! So excellent! Thanks for the tip Ivy ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

