Creamy Brown Goop

Is it weird that I had a craving for a recipe from my first book  that was written by my ex’s mom?

Yeah Probably. But I really do love pudding and I love rice pudding with lots of cinnamon.

So I made some and garnished with FRESH DATES! I didn’t even know you could get fresh dates in Toronto. I am also ashamed to admit I wasn’t even sure if there was a thing as edible fresh dates ;P But when I went to the farmers market in my neighborhood and saw an interesting package of sort of expensive dates from Iran I thought  “Well I need to try this”. When I got them home I noticed they were not DRIED. And suddenly everything made sense. All those raw desserts I was making using dried dates, that didn’t quite turn out the way they should… I was using the wrong thing!

Fresh dates, by the way, are really really good.

and, er, I guess so are Fresh Dates too… but I’m too broken hearted at this moment 😦

Slow cooked rice pudding and creamy fresh dates.

Creamy Rice Pudding

1/2 c short grain rice (sweet brown stikky rice is great)

1 c boiling water

1/3 c sugar

1 tsp cornstarch

pinch salt

5 c soymilk

1 tb cinnamon

1/4 c raisins (optional. I would never put them in)

1 tsp vanilla

1. Put rice and boiling water in a large pot. Bring to boil and simmer 15 min (or less. Do not let rice soak up all the water as it will stick and burn!)

2. Combine sugar, cornstarch  and salt. Whisk in a cup of soymilk.

3. Add sugar mixture and remaining milk to pot. Add cinnamon and raisins, if using (gross. why?) Bring to a boil.

4. Cover and reduce heat until barely simmering. Cook for 1 1/2 – 2 hours, stirring occasionally.

5. Stir in vanilla.

Broken Heart Vegan Tip #4:I haven’t figured out the universe yet. I don’t really know what “exists” and what doesn’t. But I do believe this – everything happens for a reason. The reason might not be apparent as soon as bad things happen. But look back a few months, a year, a decade and you’ll probably either say “Wow. Glad that happened.” or “Gosh. I did ok in that situation. It really gave me confidence to do something I didn’t think I could.” or “Geez. I really was super jerk. I’m going to make sure this doesn’t happen ever again.”

Broken Heart Song #4 (Billie Holiday is the obvious version choice, but sometimes, as hard as it might be, you have to step outside yourself Ms./Mr. Broken Hearted. Louis’ version is more light hearted. There’s some hope in it…)

May 13, 2010. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , . dessert, snax.

Leave a Comment

Be the first to comment!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

